Move. Play. Dance. In Bangalore!

So I read yesterday’s Hindu today (as is my wont) and saw this lovely little article in it. It was about a ‘dance company’ conducting a workshop based on the principles of Dance Movement Therapy. I found it rather a little interesting that people would be using dance as a means of therapy. So I logged on to the company’s website – www.threeleftfeet.in (what a sweet name for a dance company!) and tried to read up as much as I generally could about them. Got quite a sweet vibe. And I suppose for the first time in my life, I’m even considering going to a do that has something to do with dance. (Or maybe I’m going for some therapy after all.)

If any of you good people are in Bangalore, and would like to know more about the workshop, here are some details:

Facilitated by Natasha of Three Left Feet,
Wednesdays & Fridays: 5:30pm – 6:45pm
Saturdays: 10:30am – 11:45am
8 sessions, starting the week of November 19th 2012
Open to 14yr olds to 90yr youngs.
Maximum 15 participants per session.
The fees for this workshop is Rs. 2000.
Atta Galatta at 3018 1626 / 96325 10126 or Natasha at 97393 22203

I have a feeling I’m going to be considering this dance movement therapy thingamajig a bit seriously. Seems like quite a fun way to sort out life’s issues.

Say, what’s your favourite way of sorting out issues?

Peace.
Kabir

Categories: India, news, observations | Tags: , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Move. Play. Dance. In Bangalore!

  1. Natasha is the wife of one of my dearest friends. Thanks for the promotion here! 🙂

    • Oh! How incredibly, unbelievably, and un… predictably small our world is. And how not un-heard this kind of a comment is! 😀

      I’m glad about Natasha’s initiative, though. I think it a great way of doing things. Last time I went in for therapy, there were no balloons and ribbons hanging around the ‘office’. This sounds better. No?

  2. Thank you for supporting your post on dance/movement therapy with links to recent research and the American Dance Therapy Association – the oldest organization in the world dedicated to the profession of dance/movement therapy. Dance/movement therapy is a complex clinical practice that is quite nuanced; education occurs on the graduate level. To the untrained observer, a DMT session would look very different with different clientele – and DMT is conducted with all ages – infants to the elderly – and is used with people with diverse mental health diagnoses. It is also being used in the medical field. If you are interested in connecting with dance/movement therapists from the U.S. and around the globe, you might want to consider joining the ADTA group page on Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/groups/2209175161/

    Best to you – thank you for your post.

    • 🙂 Great to know so much stuff is happening in so much detail. Unfortunately, I stay away from Facebook. But I’ll be reading and doing more on this, soon enough.

      Peace.
      Kabir

      • If I can be of assistance in helping you find resources on legitimate dance/movement therapy, please do not hesitate to contact me. All best, Lora

      • Sure thing. I’ve actually found a couple here in India. And they seem to be doing a heck of a job, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

