Chicken Biryani ala Kabir

Hello good people!

Assuming you know the fiasco that happened earlier in the evening, I had to call my pal Nariman and rant about it. He offered to come home and spend some time with me – only if there was chicken biryani. And fool that I am, I agreed. Secretly, however, I’m quite glad I made it. A) We had a most stunning dinner. And B) I got content for yet another post: the recipe of Chicken Biryani ala Kabir.

So, first things first. This recipe serves two-three food junkies like self. You’re going to need a bunch of stuff. Plus, the recipe also takes up quite a few vessels. So be prepared in case you don’t have a maid. Here’s the ingredient list:

Cooking Ingredients:
Chicken (I prefer it on the bone): 1kg
Basmati rice: 500gms (or two nice sized cups)
Cooking oil (sunflower in my case): 3-4 tablespoons
Large onions chopped: 2
Tomatoes chopped: 4
Ginger and garlic chopped: 5 teaspoons each / Ginger-Garlic paste: 2 teaspoons
Red chili powder: 3-4 teaspoons
Dhania (coriander) powder: 2 teaspoons
Haldi (turmeric) powder: 1 and a half teaspoons
Garam Masala: No more than 1 teaspoon

Marinade Ingredients:
Yogurt: 1 big cup
Red chili powder: 2 teaspoons
Ginger-Garlic paste: 1 teaspoon
Salt: 2 teaspoons

Alright. Now that we’ve got our stuff ready, let’s get on with the culinary game.

First thing you have to do is put all the marinade ingredients into one nice big bowl and mix them together. This is a crucial step. If these guys don’t mix well, you could have an off-balance Biryani.
Now add all the chicken pieces to this mix.
Get a fork or knife and punch small holes all over the chicken’s surface. This will let all the ingredients seep in and get you a better final result. Once that’s taken care of, leave the bowl away for another hour or so.

Now, add 4-5 cups of water to a decent sized bowl. Throw in all the rice (after washing, of course) and a pinch of salt. Wait for the rice to be cooked 3/4ths of the way. This is very important. If the rice gets completely cooked, you could end up with a Biryani that resembles mashed potatoes. Anyway, once done 3/4ths, drain the water out of the rice and keep the vessel away.

Take a thick-bottomed pan (to avoid overcooking and burning) and heat the oil in it. Throw in the onions, stir them and cook them until they start turning a golden shade of brown.
Now throw in all the other ingredients – the garam masala, the ginger-garlic, the red chili powder, the haldi, the dhania powder – basically everything aside from the rice and the chicken. Cook this mix for about five minutes on the lowest flame possible.
Now add the chicken to it.
Keep gently stirring and cooking until the chicken goes tender. (You can check this with a fork, if you’ve never cooked meat before.)
Now bring in all the rice, mix it well with the rest of the ingredients and keep gently stirring every now and then. (A lot of people will want to do alternate layers of chicken and rice. But I just find it time-consuming and not very helpful in the long run. So I often skip that step.)

Now cover the vessel completely and let the whole thing cook on a very low flame for about 10 minutes.

There, you’re ready to eat Chicken Biryani ala Kabir. Any questions, feedback, anything, feel free to comment.
P.S.: Should probably have said this before, but I like my biryani a touch hot. So, if you prefer yours a little less adventerous, simply cut down the chili powder by a teaspoon and a half.

those coriander leaves are nariman’s doing. personally, i can’t stand them.

Peace.
Kabir

Categories: food! | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Chicken Biryani ala Kabir

  1. God I love food! Thaat looks yummy

    • Hee hee. Thanks very much. Love food too.

      P.S.: What kind of food do you love most?

      • Well, I’d say African food, because that’s mainly what I’ve had all my life. I especially love “yam” in any form. I love salads too.

      • Ah! Well, since I haven’t ever had African food in my life, I don’t really what it’s like. So, why don’t you tell me what it’s like? Perhaps I’ll try my culinary skills and screw up some good old African recipe! 😉

      • Lol..
        Yam is root, sort of like potatoes. I cant describe the taste of yam, but you can pretty much do whatever you do to potatoes to yam. You can also have it all sorts, eggs, vegies, salads, whatever pleases you.

      • 🙂 I know what yam is! I was asking about African cuisine otherwise.

      • Lmao! Oh, sorry! lol
        You are Indian right?
        I’ll send you a recipe or two.

      • Superb! 🙂 Yes, I’m Indian.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

